Yo Ho Ho and A Cupcake of Rum!

Every year, I beg my parents to buy me a cake from the same Iranian bakery. Last year my wish was granted but to my dismay, most of it was given away. So this year I decided to go for something completely different and make my own cake. However, me being me; I couldn’t possibly have decided on a normal choice of cake, that just wouldn’t be right.  I decided to bake alcoholic cupcakes to start the night off: welcome the Mojito cupcake.

The recipe for these cakes was definitely a bit different and I have to admit that handling alcohol at 10am did make me feel a bit queasy. Nevertheless I struggled through and managed to produce a somewhat runny batter.

The recipe says 24-30 mini muffin cases can be filled; however I used 12 normal sized cupcake cases in a normal sized cupcake tin.  I was tempted to buy the mini-muffin baking tin and cases but there was no more space in my designated baking cupboard and I was afraid I’d  get kicked out of the kitchen for taking up too much  space.

They cakes came out looking moorish and were left to cool while the icing was made.  This also included alcohol and was decorated with chopped mint and caster sugar.  The recipe made too much icing and I put the rest in a little bowl for a friend who hates cake.

Everyone absolutely loved the cakes, I was a bit worried because of the mint and alcohol in both the cake and icing but it really complimented each other and there wasn’t a strong taste of alcohol.  Will definitely be making these again and can’t wait for an excuse to make the other’s in the cocktail range

Comments
One Response to “Yo Ho Ho and A Cupcake of Rum!”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] vast majority said Strawberry Daiquiri cupcakes … hmm …  OK! After the great success with my mojito cupcakes last year (also during my birthday – does anyone see a pattern forming?), I was excited about […]



Leave a Reply

