An Attempt At A Blueberry Masterpiece.

For the first time in my life, I got a cake order… OK so it was from my mum but it was still a huge thing for me.  It was my uncle’s birthday and I was asked to bake a blueberry cake for a dinner party.

I’ve made this recipe twice before so I thought it would be quick and easy.  Oh how wrong could I be! I had to buy the ingredients on my way home from work and completely forgot the recipe needs a lot of butter and blueberries, big oops!  After a second mad dash to the supermarket, I managed to get everything and start baking.

When I first made this cake I was put off by the soured cream and 6 eggs in the recipe but for reasons beyond my understanding, it makes the cake taste amazing.  It does make the batter quite thick however so it was a bit of a struggle to get it into the cake tin.

Tip for preparing the cake tin: grease it with butter and dust it with flour.  It’s a lot harder to get these cakes out of their tins because of the shape but doing this should make it very easy.

The cake went into the oven for 40minutes and came back out as a monster, it was huge!  I was sure the cake tin was the right size but obviously not.  I was pretty sure the cake wouldn’t  stand on the  stand properly so I whipped out the longest knife I could find and cut it along the top of the tin it so that it would stand straight.

Then came the dreadful task of actually attempting to get the cake out. Both times I made this cake before, I had no problems with getting the cake out perfectly, but this time the cake decided it just didn’t want to come out of the tin, about a third of the top layer decided to stay in the tin.  Joy.

After a mini heart attack, I peeled off the rest of the cake and pieced together what I could.  The cake decidedly now looked like Frankenstein’s monster. Then it hit me. Cream chees frosting…glue… it could work.  So I put on a thin first layer of the frosting to hopefully stick everything together.

Once this dried, I put on the remainder of the icing and attempted to get it all to look smooth and nice.  With a few blueberries on top and a quick dusting of icing sugar, I can say I actually managed to hide its flaws.

 

The cake was a big hit at the party and was completely eaten up.  I was even told it was my tastiest cake yet. Not my best masterpiece aesthetically, but a lesson that not giving up and struggling on is the best way to bake.



Leave a Reply

