Chocolate Cupcake Madness

I’m not quite sure why but I always seem to end up baking late on Friday nights (not from a lack of social life, however!).  This week I was baking chocolate cupcakes for a birthday picnic on Saturday.

The recipe was easy enough to follow: whisk the dry ingredients together, mix the liquid ingredients together and then whisk it all up to make the batter.  The recipe always says to mix the butter, sugar, flour, baking powder etc. together as the first step.  I tend to do it a different way to make sure I don’t over-mix the flour. I mix the butter and the sugar together first before adding the rest of the ingredients.

The cakes went into muffin cases and cupcake trays (a deadly mix).  I didn’t want the cakes to blend together again from lack of support, so I put a little less batter in each case than I would normally do.  They came out perfect but hadn’t risen to the top.  One day I will be able to get it right with muffin cases… or just buy a muffin tray.

Then came the icing.  I’m sure I halved the icing as usual but am not sure how I managed to put double the amount of milk in.  Luckily this didn’t actually affect the icing and it came out well.  To be honest I may have just made a whole batch in my sleepiness and thought I had made half.  Who knows?!

The best part of baking for me is decorating the cakes.   Lot’s of blogs I read have beautifully piped roses etc. and I have become slightly envious; so I will be ordering some Wilton nozzles a.s.a.p. For now I made do with some nozzles that I found at home.

When icing frosted roses; you should apparently hold the piping bag directly above the cake, start from the middle and work your way outwards in a circle.  Sound easy? Not so much.  Some just didn’t seem to want to work, so I swirled them in the Hummingbird Bakery style instead.  Most did sort of work but it’s clear that I need a lot more practice!

I took the cupcakes to the picnic the next day and kept the box straight (so they wouldn’t get squished).  Because of the hot weather however, the icing got a bit, for lack of a better word, gooey.  Seeing my friends attempt to eat them was very funny to watch though.  They were enjoyed by every one and gobbled up.  I normally don’t like chocolate cake and these were very sweet but still yummy.

Comments
2 Responses to “Chocolate Cupcake Madness”
  1. Valeri says:

    Hi there! It was so much fun to read your blog. You reminded me of myself when I was still learning (I stiill am until now). Cooking has always been my passion..then it branched to baking since I got over my funny phobia of turning an oven on. We didn’t have those easy turn on-turn off posh ovens..we have the old-fashioned one that when you light it, the whole house might explode! haha So anyway, I just want to say that all bakers started from the very basic..and during those times, not all of the product/s came out perfect. Keep on mixing! Keep on baking! Keep on trying!

    I have just launched my website..and who knows, you will do too in the next couple of months. I am not like those BIG bakeries out there. I don’t bake everyday (as much as I want to). I am taking baby steps. =)

    I think I have wrote a blog on your blog now (oops!). I’m so sorry. You can add me on my FB account and Page if you like and you can ask any questions. I also just started blogging too, but in tumblr.

    Would love to hear from you!

    Sending lots of love,
    Valeri
    Queen of Hearts – specialty cupcakes, edible bouquets and more
    http://www.queenofheartscupcakes.com
    http://www.queenofheartscupcakes.tumblr.com
    http://www.facebook.com/QueenofHeartsCupcakesAndMore

  2. I still dream about these cakes….that’s how good they were! K x

Leave a Reply

