Another Reason Why Nutella is The best Thing Since Sliced Bread

Everyone’s had it with a slice of toast and butter, it is the nations (or should be) favourite chocolate spread: Nutella.  This week, I found yet another reason why it’s amazing: Chocolate and Hazelnut cupcakes.

Oh yes. Just the thought makes the tastes bud’s go crazy.  So, while I’m sat here with my cuppa and cheeky cupcake; I’ll tell you why/how I made it.

It was my first week officially back at work and I thought I’d be nice and bake something to take in (other than a few left over oat and raisin cookies).  I’ve been trying to avoid making these cupcakes to date because I knew I’d want to eat all of them but finally gave into temptation.

The cupcake recipe is your typical chocolate cupcake recipe, which is just your normal vanilla cupcake recipe with cocoa powder replacing vanilla essence.  These got spooned into the cases and put into the oven for 20-25 minutes.

Once out and cooled a small hole is cut out of the middle of each cake and filled with Nutella.  The recipe doesn’t say whether you should put the cut out bit of cake back on top but I did anyway; as I’d eat them otherwise.

It was when I made the icing that I encountered my first problem; the icing consists of the typical buttercream icing recipe but again replacing the vanilla essence with Nutella.  I didn’t realise until I had started icing the cupcakes with my Wilton nozzle that the icing was very thick; it wouldn’t come out of the nozzle easily!

In hindsight I probably should have taken notice of how thick the icing had gotten; I would probably suggest making the buttercream a bit lighter than you normally would so that when you add the Nutella it comes to the perfect consistency.

 

I gave up with the nozzle and attempted the Hummingbird swirl, which was again quite hard because of the consistency of the icing.  Once I made them look acceptable I packed them away to take to work the next day.

The first taste test was by me at work on Monday Morning and oh my what a cupcake!  It was very chocolaty and sweet however and I had to eat it slowly even though I have an extremely sweet tooth.  It is a must for any chocolate or Nutella lover!

Leave a Reply

