Almond & Apricot Cookies

My household has a lot of dinner parties.  Why? I don’t exactly know; personally, I’ve put it down to the fact that as an Iranian family, we like gather round other Iranian families and use it as an excuse to eat an obscene amount of rice, meat dishes and other yummy things.

As per usual, I was commissioned to make a tasty dessert for the dinner party and ALSO as per usual, I decided to make life hard for myself.  This time it was by making cookies and a layer cake at the same time as my mum was cooking in the kitchen.  We all know the saying about too many cooks and ruined food; well a savoury cook and a dessert cook in one teeny tiny kitchen leads to murder or something very close to it! The fight for kitchen space, oven space and general ‘moving around’ space was ridiculous and if it wasn’t for our amazing relationship I may have had a finger or two chopped off as a lesson never to enter her domain again.

The cookies were dealt with first; now if I were sensible I would have made the layer cake and baked cookies while it cooled.  My logic however, dictated that the cookies go first simply because they were smaller.  I know, my lack of common sense astounds me too!

The butter, two types of sugar were whisked together with the egg and vanilla essence following soon after.  I then sifted all the ‘dry’ ingredients and mixed it into the creamed butter in two goes.  This was a bit difficult for my poor, half-dead electric whisk and took a little longer than expected.  I then realised that I had a load of apricots to chop up so got onto that before stirring them in with the ground almonds.

I’m constantly told off by my mum for making my cookies too big for people to nibble on (they are normal size I promise!) but I didn’t want to aggravate someone with a large knife in her hand (she was chopping at the time) so I used a tablespoon measurement for each cookie.  I sprinkled some flaked almonds on top and put the cookies in the oven for about 10 minutes, as they were half the size.

Once out they were left to cool before they were placed on the proper ‘cake’ plate and laid out with some chocolates ready for the party.

The majority of the cookies were eaten up at the dinner party and the rest consumed by work colleagues the next day.  No one actually realised they were home baked and thought they were bakery bought (a step up from store bought apparently).

I did like the cookies but I had a bit of an issue with the apricot pieces if I’m honest.  I tried to chop them up small but I felt it was still too much apricot in one bite to deal with.  I think if I make them again I’d try to puree them somehow or make the chunks even smaller.  Otherwise, they were really nice cookies and I actually really liked the simple decoration of putting a few flaked almonds on top.

Leave a Reply

