Who Says Blondes Have More Fun?

I have been eyeing up this recipe for a long time and finally got the chance to make them when I went to visit a friend’s new place.  The Blondie – what is essentially a white chocolate brownie.  Yes people, it exists and I made it!

I started by melting the chocolate and butter over a pan of simmering water – this time I managed not to burn any plastic or anything, for which I am very proud (and relieved).  The eggs and vanilla extract are added just after it’s taken off the heat, and finally the flour, salt and pecan nuts.

Now I chopped up a LOT of nuts; it was the right amount but I was starting to get worried about how nutty it would be.  I kept to the recipe however and spooned the mixture into the baking tray, which had been greased and lined with greaseproof paper.

Forty minutes later, I took out the gorgeous smelling brownie, let it cool and sliced it into squares before heading over to my friends for dinner.

We were very excited to have a piece but were good and waited till after dinner.  The brownie came after a beautiful homemade salmon en croute and I was… disappointed.

Now don’t get me wrong, on the whole it was tasty, it was disappointing because I was expecting a beautifully, luscious white chocolate brownie.  What I bit into tasted more like a yummy cake.  It just wasn’t what I was expecting.

The recipe does say it’s an alternative for those that don’t like the richness of chocolate brownies so I should have figured.  To me the blondies tasted like a not-too-sweet, nutty cake that goes great with a cup of coffee. Great as a cake but not as great as a brownie.

In this case, the fight between blondies or brownies… the brownies definitely win!

Leave a Reply

