A Healthy Snack?!

I don’t know about you but I always thought muesli bars were ridiculously healthy.  OK they have lots of nuts and dried fruit but that’s good energy, right?! A colleague from work requested I made something nutty and healthier than your average cupcake so I immediately went for this recipe.

I’ve finally managed to learn that you have to read the ingredients and the recipe before you start, as I normally would realise I was missing an ingredient or had to chop up everything in halfway through making the recipe!

I knew there would be lots of chopping with the muesli bars so I didn’t start until everything was prepared.  There is a LOT of different fruits and nuts in the recipe.  I put in desiccated coconut, dried apricots, cranberries and dates, cornflakes, sunflower seeds, walnuts and oats.  The recipe also called for raisins but I completely forgot about them – It’s not because I hate raisins … honest!

After what seemed like hours of chopping, I could start putting everything together.  I melted the butter, golden syrup and sugar in a large pan and set it aside to cool slightly.  There was a lot of butter in the recipe and I was starting to worry about how buttery the taste would be, but I figured there were so many other ingredients, the buttery taste would balance out.

Then, all you literally do is put everything in a big bowl, mix it, stir in the butter mixture and put it in the lined baking tray. Then I pressed the mixture down with the back of a tablespoon to compress it.

 

The most intriguing part of the recipe was to cover the mixture with greaseproof paper and cover with jam jars and tins so that it compresses even more. That definitely earned me some disapproving looks from the folks when they got home!

Once cooled, I put the mixture in the fridge overnight and cut it up in square slices to take to work.  My compression skills weren’t too great and the muesli bars tended to break apart quite easily.

The taste test came the next day with a cup of tea and a muesli slice for breakfast: it was a lot nicer than I expected. I’m not the biggest fan of dried fruit (why would you ruin perfectly tasty fruit?!) or coconuts but it came together well in the muesli bar.  Furthermore, it kept me going till lunch, which was great.  BUT… it was ridiculously buttery.  It was only bearable because there were so many other flavours going on.

Overall a good choice, albeit not the healthy choice I thought it was.  It’s a recipe I would make again, however surprised I am to admit it.  When I do make it again, however, I’ll definitely put a lot less butter in it.

Leave a Reply

