Carrot and Orange Loaf … The Mary Berry Way

I’m still addicted to Mary Berry’s Baking Bible, and wanted to try out another recipe from the book. I decided on the Carrot and Orange Loaf for two reasons: 1. I wanted to see what a crazy combination like carrot and orange would taste like, 2. I’ve never made a carrot cake with butter instead of oil.

The biggest problem I have with the recipe book is that not all the recipes have a photo of the finished product. I normally use the photo most to see what it’s meant to turn out like so had a bit of a freak out when I didn’t have one to use.  However, I turned to my trusty friend, Rising To the Berry, who is going through all the recipes in the book and, thankfully, she had already done this one.

Now, being the geek that I am, I’ve read all the baking tips at the front of the book and decided to try out her way of preparing a loaf tin.  It was essentially greasing the tin all up and cutting a piece of greaseproof paper that is the same size as the length of the of the longest side and leaves an overlap (see photo below).

 

After that was done I set about grating the carrots and boy, were there a lot of carrots to get through. I’m generally rubbish at grating things; normally I end up having about 10 cuts on my fingers from where I got excited but this time I did quite well, I only had three.  I consider that huge progress.

Once the carrots were done I grated the orange rind and cut away the pith (which is the white part of the skin – yes, I actually had to Google it!) before slicing it.

Finally I set about making the batter; the recipe says to bung it all into a bowl and mix it up. I tend to find that I over mix the batter quite when I do it this way so I started by mixing the butter, sugar, rind and carrots; before mixing in the eggs and finally the flower baking powder and spices.  I also added a tablespoon of milk, as the batter was quite thick.

The mixture went into the cake tin and into the oven for about 45minutes.  I took it out when it was just firm and put the slices of orange on the top and drizzled some honey on top of that. This went into the oven for a further 15minutes.

I have to say, when I took the loaf out of the oven I was insanely proud of it, and therefore of Mary Berry.  The loaf came out perfectly.  Furthermore, the new way of lining the loaf tin made it so much easier to take the cake out. You literally just lift it out and hey presto… perfect loaf!

I managed to hold my family off eating the loaf until after dinner and I tell you, it was definitely worth the wait! It was beautifully moist and the carrot and orange flavour actually worked really well.  Also, I find a lot of carrot cakes are quite oily so it was really nice to not have that. All in all, a definite great recipe; Mary Berry is on a good streak!

Comments
3 Responses to “Carrot and Orange Loaf … The Mary Berry Way”
  1. Ruth came says:

    I’ve never liled using baking parchment so i grease the loaf tin and then i rub a thin layer of flour on it. The loaf will just slip out! Don’t use TOO much otherwise it’ll taste really dry. This doesn’t work for cakes.

    • Hey Ruth,
      I always used to do it that way too but I always found that the loaf either got too dry (because i put too much flour in it) or it was very hard to get out. It rarely came out perfect.
      By putting in baking parchment along the length of the tin only and greasing the rest, the loaf comes out perfect every time. Try it and let me know which you prefer 🙂

      • Alex Welch says:

        My first cooking of this cake, and it’s been in the oven for 10 minutes. Wish I’d read your comments before I put it in; only lined the base of the tin and of course turning it out with the sticky top might be tricky. I’m using M&S marmalade with honey because I’ve run out of pure honey. Hope it works!!

Leave a Reply

