Dairy-Free Blueberry and Coconut Cake

Continuing with the advent theme, my second advent present went to a colleague who is lactose intolerant.  I was determined to make her something dairy-free, as she normally just takes the bullet and eats my cakes regardless.

I found this recipe on the BBC goodfoods website and had to give it a go. It seemed pretty simple to do, whisking the ‘wet’ ingredients in one bowl and the ‘dry’ ones in another – all you have to do is alternatively fold in the flour and soya milk into the ‘wet’ ingredients.  I didn’t use soya milk for this recipe but stuck to coconut milk instead.

Dairy-Free Blueberry and Coconut Cake

Then a quarter of the mixture went into the tin before adding the blueberries into the rest of the mixture.  Then everything went into the tin and into the oven for around an hour and 15 minutes.  Once cooled, I sliced up the cake and wrapped it for her present (unfortunately at the time I only had black ribbon – which isn’t the most festive colour but I had to work with what I had!)

Dairy-Free Blueberry and Coconut Cake

The rest of the cake went into the office kitchen for whoever else was feeling peckish that day.

I have to admit, I’ve always been a bit wary of dairy-free cakes, as I feel like it wouldn’t taste as good but this recipe is gold.  The coconut works amazingly well with the blueberries and there isn’t that ‘oily’ aftertaste you usually get with oil-based cakes.  A definite new favourite of mine and one that I will make a lot more in future.

Dairy-Free Blueberry and Coconut Cake

Leave a Reply

