Iced Chocolate Traybake

This was the last ‘advent present’ I had to make for my team advent calendar and this recipient was the easiest to bake for, as he beats me on the sweet-tooth front. I figured, what could be sweeter than an Iced Chocolate Traybake???

I set about getting all the ingredients together and was pretty surprised when I realised that I needed apricot jam for the cake. Would apricot jam really go with chocolate cake and chocolate icing? Well I guess I was about to find out.

I mixed the cocoa powder and water to make a thick paste and put it aside to cool for a while before dumping all the ingredients in a bowl and whisking them together.  Yes people – it is, literally, that easy!

I poured all the ingredients into my baking tray and put it in the oven for around 40minutes.  Once out, I left it to cool and made myself a cup of tea before starting on the icing.

 Iced Chocolate Traybake

The icing was made up of chocolate melted with 6 tablespoons of water, which is then beaten in with the icing sugar (yum!).  Once this was ready I spread the apricot jam over the cake and then the icing over this.  I actually found it quite difficult to spread the icing evenly; the apricot jam made the icing difficult to work with.

Recipe 64 - 3

I finally got a (almost) smooth look before I gave up. All that was left to do was to cut the traybake into squares, eat any stray crumbs, and pick the nicest-looking squares to go into the ‘advent present’; the rest of it got boxed up and carted off to family, friends and my tummy!

 Iced Chocolate Traybake

I absolutely loved this cake, as did the ‘advent present recipient’ and anyone else who managed to grab a slice from the kitchen before it disappeared.  It is very sweet and might not be to everyone’s taste but personally, I found it scrumptious! I’m not the biggest chocolate cake fan but I absolutely loved this, the apricot jam went really well and the chocolate was not overpowering at all.

Comments
2 Responses to “Iced Chocolate Traybake”
  1. Lucy says:

    Hi, This sounds great for a cake I need to make next week- can you link to/provide a recipe please?

    Thanks!

    • Hey Lucy,
      The recipe is from Mary Berry’s ‘Baking Bible’. I can’t actually provide the recipe for copyright reasons (I wish I could!) but if you check the recipe list, it has the page that the recipe came from.
      Sorry I can’t be more of a help! xx

Leave a Reply

