Lemon & Raspberry Tart with Poppy Seed Pastry

The name of this recipe is enough to get me hungry.  I saw this in my new copy of Lorraine Pascale’s Baking Made Easy and had to try it.  It was the perfect dinner party dessert and I had to get over my fear of tarts.

The tart dish I have is a little bigger than the one recommended in the equipment so I made 1/3 extra to make sure there was enough to fit.

I started by making the poppy seed dough – I whisked together the butter, sugar and vanilla in a bowl and added in the eggs one at a time.  I then stirred in the flour, salt and poppy seeds till it made a soft, uniform dough. I then wrapped it up and let it cool in the fridge for 2 hours.  Simple – I don’t know why I was so worried about making tarts!

After the 2 hours, I rolled it out and attempted to ‘lay’ it over the tart tin.  After about 4 pathetic attempts I gave up doing it Lorraine Pascale’s way and did it my way.  I rolled the dough out on baking parchment and flipped it onto the tart tin – not the most elegant method but it worked.  A few patches were needed here and there but otherwise it seemed to be fool-proof!

Lemon & Raspberry Tart with Poppy Seed Pastry

The tart went back in the fridge for 15minutes to harden up before it went into the oven for a blind bake using baking beads.  After about 15 minutes I took the beads out and baked for a further 5 minutes.  Now the recipe said that my tart shouldn’t have much colour on it but mine was turning a light golden so I took it out a little earlier and let it cool.

Lemon & Raspberry Tart with Poppy Seed Pastry

 The filling was definitely the easiest part of the bake.  I whisked together the eggs and sugar for a few minutes, added some double cream and finally the lemon zest and juice.  This was poured into the tart case and baked until it was slightly wobbly in the middle.

I’m starting to realise that my oven is a lot hotter than it should be so turned down the heat by 15-20 degrees and checked on it 15 minutes sooner.  It was barely wobbly in the middle – oops!

Lemon & Raspberry Tart with Poppy Seed Pastry

I took it out just in time and let it cool. Then it was simply a matter of decorating the top with raspberries and a dusting of icing sugar and hey presto, my first proper tart!

Lemon & Raspberry Tart with Poppy Seed Pastry

The tart looked quite impressive and was very well received (especially when the guests had already tasted some of my Chocolate Truffles earlier on).  It was served with a drizzle of single cream and tasted absolutely beautiful! It was delicious and creamy but with a nice lemony zing to it and the raspberries and poppy seeds went amazingly well with it all.

Lemon & Raspberry Tart with Poppy Seed Pastry

 This is definitely up there amongst the favourites and I will definitely make it again. Not only is it scrumptious but it’s become very clear through making this that I need to practice making tart dough!

Comments
6 Responses to “Lemon & Raspberry Tart with Poppy Seed Pastry”
  1. Wow………That looks amazing, I’m salivating now xx Thanks for sharing xx

  2. cristalltg says:

    That looks really good!

  3. Victoria says:

    That looks really pretty and very professional! I am going to give this a go. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Your tart looks delicious, yum!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] the success of my Lemon and Raspberry Tart, I’ve got a bit ambitious and decided to try another first – […]



Leave a Reply

