Banana and Cinnamon Muffins

 These are my second attempt at muffins and I decided to go with a Hummingbird recipe, as they are famously American and are meant to be amazing with muffins.  The Banana and Cinnamon muffins in the first Hummingbird Recipe book simply sounded too good not to attempt so I got all the ingredients and started baking on a Sunday night to take to work the next day.

I firstly mixed all the dry ingredients together and gently whisked the ‘wet’ ingredients in a second bowl.  I then mixed the two together in batches until it was all incorporated.

Then came the bashing of the bananas, which is harder than it seems, especially as two of my bananas weren’t as ripe as they probably should have been. After what seemed like a 5 minute arm work out, the bananas were mashed and ready to be stirred into the batter. These went into muffin cases and into the oven for around 30-35 minutes.

Banana and Cinnamon Muffins
 Once cooled the muffins were packed up and taken to work the next day.  I’d missed breakfast to go swimming in the morning (my weak attempt at being healthy) and decided that, after being so good, it would be OK to have a muffin for breakfast.

Normally, I love anything with cinnamon and/or banana in it; they are probably two of my top favourite flavours when it comes to baked goods. Although these muffins good, they weren’t a favourite for me – I found them too dense and stodgy.  However, my colleagues disagreed with me, one of whom ate four of them!

Banana and Cinnamon Muffins I probably won’t make these again but would say that everyone should try them at least once. Don’t get me wrong, the flavour is fine, I just had an issue with the density of the muffin; it might be perfectly fine for everyone else.

Comments
One Response to “Banana and Cinnamon Muffins”
  1. Love your blog! Check out mine, maybe something will spark your interest and you’ll follow me! Hope to hear from you soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

