Peach Cobbler

 My brother came to visit this week and on his way to mine, informed me  that there’d better be a tasty dessert awaiting his arrival or there would be trouble.  Trouble, when it comes to my older brother, takes the form of a lot of punches (in a very loving brotherly fashion). It seems no matter how old we get (he is 29 and I’m 24), we still fight like we’re children. So to avoid any bruises, I decided to make him the Peach Cobbler from the new Hummingbird Bakery recipe book, as it looked simple and, more importantly, really quick to make.

The first thing to do was to prepare the filling, which was literally a case of straining the peaches and mixing in the sugar, mixed spice, lemon juice and corn flour.  This went into the ovenproof dish, and the peach juice went into cups and served as a pre-dessert drink . Waste not, want not or whatever the saying is.

Peach Cobbler

The second part is just as easy, I mixed together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt and rubbed in the butter until it resembled breadcrumbs.  I always love doing things like this when baking as I find them strangely therapeutic; I guess it’s the act of letting my hands do the work and allowing my mind to wander, even if it’s only for a few minutes.

Peach Cobbler

Anyway, daydream over, I added the boiling water and mixed with a fork until it was combined.  Then came the messy part – I used my fingers to spread the dough all over the top of the peaches and sprinkled some caster sugar and mixed spice over the top before putting it in the oven for around 45 minutes.

Peach Cobbler

Once out it was served straight away to an eagerly awaiting family – apparently the smell was enough torture and they couldn’t wait 5 seconds for the peaches to cool down a bit.  They risked burnt mouths to get a taste of the cobbler.

Peach Cobbler

This is the first time I’ve ever made, or even eaten, anything like this and I have to say I loved it. It’s a really easy dessert that smells and tastes amazing. You could even count it as a healthy snack, as there’s lots of fruit involved.  Cobbler could literally be made with any type of fruit and it would taste amazing.  I think this hast to be an official new favourite dessert for me. I realise I say this most weeks, but this time I really mean it.

Leave a Reply

