Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cookies

It’s been a while since I baked any cookies and I spotted this recipe in the new Hummingbird Bakery recipe book and couldn’t say no. I mean who can say no to peanut butter and chocolate?!

I got down to baking one evening with the intention of taking them to work the next day.  I started by sifting all the dry ingredients together in a small bowl. I’ve recently heard that the more you sift the ‘dry’ part of the ingredients, the better the outcome is and it just so happened that I came across this tidbit of information when I bought a fancy new sieve (see below). Naturally I want the best bake possible and decided to sieve the dry ingredients a few times … OK, so I got excited and did it about 5 times!

Mug Sieve

Once I got bored, I creamed the butter, peanut butter and sugar together before adding in the eggs and finally the ‘dry’ ingredients to form a batter. I used a tablespoon as a measure for dough rolled the ball in caster sugar before placing it on the baking tray. The long and tiring process of baking a ton of cookies with only 3 baking trays had officially begun.  Joy.

 Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cookies

The only benefit to this is that you can ‘taste test’ the first batch of cookies whilst the rest are baking away, which I have decided is the best way to bake any type of biscuit. I got a glass of milk ready and sat down to enjoy my cookie and watch some TV. To my dismay, it just so happened that my parents got back from a dinner party at the same time and they decided to sit either side of me and devour my plate of cookies, they even went as far as drinking the milk to wash everything down!

Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cookies

I gave up on taste testing that night and banned my family from any more cookies. Once I’d finished baking I set the cookies aside to cool and packed them up the next day to take to work. My morning coffee was accompanied by a peanut butter and chocolate cookie and I finally got round to taste testing.

Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cookies I’d describe these peanut butter and chocolate cookies as the Ronseal of cookies – it does what it says on the tin. There’s chocolate, there’s peanut butter, what more could you want? The cookies are rich and moist and delicious with a cup of coffee. I would tell you of they were also good with a glass of milk but thanks to my “loving” family, I wouldn’t know (yes, I’m still slightly bitter!).

Leave a Reply

